MVSU SACSCOC Information Page

 

Mississippi Valley State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate and master’s degrees. Questions about the accreditation of Mississippi Valley State University may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (www.sacscoc.org).

SACSCOC:  Official website | Principles of Accreditation | Policies


10-YEAR REVIEW: Faculty and Staff Orientation Handout (8/16/2022) |  Accreditation Activities Underway (Rev 8/2021)

What is Reaffirmation of Accreditation?

Mississippi Valley State University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). Reaffirmation of accreditation occurs every 10 years and includes an interim review after 5 years.  MVSU’s accreditation was last reaffirmed in 2012 and the University successfully completed its interim review in 2018.  MVSU has begun efforts to ensure reaffirmation of accreditation in 2023. The MVSU SACSCOC Leadership Team and SACSCOC Compliance Team officially kicked off this process by attending Orientation Sessions at the SACSCOC Annual Meeting in December 2020.

August 15, 2022 Update:

Who Can I Contact If I Have Questions About SACSCOC Accreditation?

SACSCOC Leadership Team
Dr. Jerryl Briggs, President | jerrly.briggs@mvsu.edu
Dr. Kathie Stromile Golden, Provost & Senior Vice-President for Academic Affairs | ksgolden@mvsu.edu
Ms. Joyce Dixon, Vice-President for Business and Finance/CFO | jadixon@mvsu.edu
Dr. Sharon Freeman, Asst. VP, Inst. Research/SACSCOC Accreditation Liaison | sharonf@mvsu.edu
Dr. John Zheng, Chair, Department of English and Foreign Languages | zheng@mvsu.edu
Dr. Abigail Newsome, Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs | asnewsome@mvsu.edu

SACSCOC Compliance Team
Dr. Sharon Freeman, Asst. VP, Inst. Research/SACSCOC Accreditation Liaison | sharonf@mvsu.edu
Ms. Mantra Henderson, Library Director/Admin. Compliance Coordinator | mlhenderson@mvsu.edu
Dr. Sherill Morris-Francis, Assoc. Professor, Criminal Justice/Dir. Academic Assessment |sherill.morris@mvsu.edu
Ms. Barbara Baymon, Instructor of Speech/Academic Compliance Coordinator | bbaymon@mvsu.edu
Dr. Mamie Osborne, Asst. Professor of English/General Education Coordinator |mosborne@mvsu.edu
Ms. Jacqueline Griggs, University Testing Director/Inst. Effectiveness Coordinator |jrgriggs@mvsu.edu

FIFTH-YEAR INTERIM REPORT:  Learn More |  Presentation-November 19, 2014 | MVSU 5th Year Interim Report Calendar | MVSU 5th Year Interim Report

UPDATES AND ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE SACSCOC PRESIDENT (Dr. Belle Wheelan): Most current | July 2017, a | May 2017, a, b | August 2016 | July 2015 | April 2015 | October 2014 | July 2014 | March 2014


MVSU ACADEMIC PROGRAMS:  Academic Program Inventory with CIP Codes 

STUDENT ACHIEVEMENT: Reports

POLICIES:  MVSU Policy Documents


SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES: MVSU Substantive Change Policy |  Learn More | SACSCOC Presentation 1 | SACSCOC Presentation 2


QEP (QUALITY ENHANCEMENT PLAN):

  • Guidelines
  • "Passport to Finish- Intentional Advisement, Academic Support and Student Engagement" (2023) : Summary

MVSU ASSESSMENT RESOURCES  


ACCREDITATION MANAGEMENT SYSTEM


For internal use only:

Withdrawing Student Survey

Graduating Student Survey

 

For more information contact: 

Dr. Sharon Freeman, Accreditation Liaison 
Suite 445, Sutton Administration Building 
662-254-3811 
sharonf@mvsu.edu